Beautiful Wings

Find what makes your heart beat fast. Look left, look right, and chase after it with all you've got. Soon enough you'll be running so fast, you won't realise you're off the ground, spreading those beautiful wings… and flying!

Day Eight – #30DaysOfTheWord

Thursday, October 9

8:10

Jeremiah 12:5 – 14:10, 1 Thessalonians 1:1 – 2:8, Psalm 79:1-13 and Proverbs 24:30-34

I love it when God speaks when I am going through a situation, and I stumble upon a verse of scripture, or hear a message that gives me wisdom on how to tackle whatever it is that is going on at the time. Today He spoke loud and clear from Jeremiah 12:5 and Proverbs 24:30-34!

“If racing against mere men makes you tired, how will you race against horses? (NLT)”

“I walked by the field of a lazy person, the vineyard of one with no common sense. I saw that it was overgrown with nettles. It was covered with weeds, and its walls were broken down. Then, as I looked and thought about it, I learned this lesson: A little extra sleep, a little more slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest – and poverty will pounce on you like a bandit; scarcity will attack you like an armed robber. (NLT)”

As long as I have been aware of myself, I have always wanted to be a more consistent, disciplined person. As a student, I am one of those who does everything at the last minute and gets away with a B+ or A-, so there has never been an incentive to push for more. All through high school, my teachers told me “Dami you are bright, but with just a little more effort you could be exceptional.” At uni I did the least and finished with a 2:1, continuing on my path of just enough to be good, but not excellent. It spilled over to my work life: Some of my worst and best senior colleagues have said pretty much the same about the quality of my deliverables. “Dami you have fantastic ideas, flashes of brilliance (two different supervisors at two different companies actually said those exact same words, yikes), but you need to be more consistent.”

Recently I have started having ‘the talk’ with myself again about how I need to become consistent in order to really excel. All the people I look up to are brilliant, yes, but they are hard workers. Grit, determination and consistency are what makes the difference between them and me. This thought has been lingering on my mind for a couple of days now. Do I want to be just average all my life or do I want to excel? So God’s word hit me like I brick today.

Since Tuesday I have been feeling flu-ish (headache, sore threat, fatigue), but have many things to deliver on, and more coming my way. The verse in Jeremiah speaks to me, because I feel like God is saying that He wants to put more into my hands, and how can He do it if I am already tired and overwhelmed with the little I am doing now? Racing against horses is akin to playing in the ‘big leagues’. The rules are different, the field is bloody and not for whiners, complainers and excuse givers. I cannot afford to be tired, so I am willing my spirit and body to push through and do everything set to come my way today, for the rest of the week, and generally in life.

The verse from Proverbs just made me look around my apartment and sigh. It is by no means a jungle, but I have an ‘environmental sanitation’ pending from the weekend – vacuuming, scrubbing the bathroom, doing the dishes, etc. I argue in my head that there is no time, but I still squeeze in an hour at night to catch up on tv shows before going to bed, so who is fooling who? 😦

This trend is the same for the areas of my life where I am refusing to ‘do the work’ and choosing to get ‘more sleep’ instead. It is interesting that this translation says ‘more sleep…. more slumber’, so the problem is clearly not with sleep. I definitely need adequate rest, but I know deep down how much ‘sleep’ I should be getting and when I am getting more than I should.

Today I receive God’s chastisement with humility. I repent, and I pray he helps me to become more aware of myself and work towards becoming a disciplined, consistent and hardworking woman.

Peace, Love and Less Sleep,

Dami

#30DaysOfTheWord

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day Eight – #30DaysOfTheWord

  1. Pingback: Days Twenty Four & Twenty Five – #30DaysOfTheWord | Beautiful Wings

Leave a Reply

