Beautiful Wings

Find what makes your heart beat fast. Look left, look right, and chase after it with all you've got. Soon enough you'll be running so fast, you won't realise you're off the ground, spreading those beautiful wings… and flying!

Day Eighteen – #30DaysOfTheWord

Sunday, October 19

22:48

Jeremiah 33:1 – 34:22, 1 Timothy 4:1-16, Psalm 89:1-13 and Proverbs 25:23-24

I am exhausted, but in a good way, This was a great weekend, as expected, though I do wish I got to do a little more studying!

I ran my first proper 10k race today! *insert every excited and happy emoticon known to smartphones*

I wasn’t able to train for the race because of the stress of settling into school, and I didn’t get much sleep last night (because I was getting my groove on with friends at a networking event), plus I had a couple of blisters at the back of my ankles from walking around the day before. I basically broke every rule in the book, but I sucked it up and just hoped for the best!

The race was grueling but I determined to have fun while doing it! As the race kicked off at 8:00am, I plugged my ears with the WOW Worship (Lime) album and got lost in the music. It was like having a different kind of Sunday service. I don’t know if it was the spirit-filled songs, the scenery, being with other racers, the adrenaline pumping or a combination of all of the above, but I literally had a running/worship session. I was lifting holy hands, punching the air and moving my lips to the music. One song in particular got me – ‘Never Once’ by Sonic Society. Here are some of the lyrics:

“Standing on this mountain top
Looking just how far we’ve come
Knowing that for every step 
You were with us
Kneeling on this battleground
Seeing just how much You’ve done
Knowing every victory
Was Your power in us

Scars and struggles on the way
But with joy our hearts can say
Yes, our hearts can say

Never once did we ever walk alone
Never once did You leave us on our own
You are faithful, God, You are faithful
You are faithful, God, You are faithful…”

This song is so true for me! It says everything about my walk with God so far. I got pretty emotional at this point of the race and had to get a hold of myself!

After what felt like an eternity, and with the help of Tamar Braxton’s Love & War album (I switched over close to the end when I needed an energy boost), I finished the race in 1 hour 13 minutes, and came in 665th of 765 racers! I am proud of myself, though of course I can do much better in future.

I got so many freebies, including a yoga mat, tons of food, hair and lip care products, a mini make over, a ‘massage’ and so much more!

After having a fabulous day which ended with dinner at a friend’s house, I settled in to do today’s reading, and smiled as I got to 1 Timothy 4:8-9:

For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come. This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance. (NLT)

Wow!

Trust God to keep his Word relevant and on point! Godliness has a far greater payoff than a 10k! I hear you Lord!

Peace, Love and Physical Training (and of course Godliness),

Dami

image

#30DaysOfTheWord

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day Eighteen – #30DaysOfTheWord

  1. 10k eh? e ku ise!

    That bible verse is one of the verses I learnt to memorise from long ago in Yoruba of course 🙂 “ohun ija wa kii se ti ara, sugbon o ni agbara ninu Olorun.” – powerful verse it is.
    I can’t tell you last time I remember the line, must be long, long ago, but you reminded me now, thank you.

Leave a Reply

