Beautiful Wings

Find what makes your heart beat fast. Look left, look right, and chase after it with all you've got. Soon enough you'll be running so fast, you won't realise you're off the ground, spreading those beautiful wings… and flying!

Days Twenty Four & Twenty Five – #30DaysOfTheWord

Sunday, October 26

17:57

I had a little mishap with my MacBook yesterday. Poured some hot tea on my keyboard. It was very little, and I’m sure it won’t damage the laptop, but just to be on the safe side, I have it switched off and turned upside down for the next few days so it can dry properly.

This is partially why I couldn’t blog yesterday. I say ‘partially’, because in the frenzy of spilling the tea and looking for alternative means to study for my two exams that come up this week, I completely forgot about the little laptop I brought from Nigeria. I laughed when I got home at 3am this morning and saw it sitting on my dining table looking lonely, but I gave in to tiredness instead of doing my reading and posting. I do not count it as a missed day though, but rather as a missed moment in time. Our God lives in eternity, remember? *wink*

Anyway, here we are with yesterday’s and today’s readings!

Part I

Jeremiah 48:1 – 49:22, 2 Timothy 4:1-22, Psalm 95:1 – 96:13 and Proverbs 26:9-12

Paul says in 2 Timothy 4:3-4 that:

“For a time is coming when people will no longer listen to sound and wholesome teaching. They will follow their own desires and will look for teachers who will tell them whatever their itching ears want to hear. They will reject the truth and chase after myths. (NLT)”

This verse evokes all types of thoughts and feelings in me.

Suffice to say that, I know that this verse definitely clearly depicts the state of the church today. So many sweet-sounding New Age doctrines have emerged that sound very similar to the message of truth, but leave me feeling confused and empty. There are very influential figures, motivational speakers, etc today who go around saying very warm and high sounding things, and people flock to them in tens and hundreds of thousands. How do I know if they are right or wrong? How do I embrace the dynamism and ever-relevant message of the truth without falling pray to itching ears?

I just took a moment to think about it and the Holy Spirit gave me a response – “Jesus,” He said. Any preacher or teacher that does not preach or teach through the lens of Jesus and his finished work, is one who would be prone to preaching and teaching what itching ears want to hear. I also believe that the Holy Spirit, and my conscience are other tools that I can use to distinguish between doctrines that are true and those that are false. Going forward I will  pass everything I hear through these three filters.

Part II

Jeremiah 49:23 – 50:46, Titus 1:1-16, Psalm 97:1 – 98:9 and Proverbs 26:13-16

As I have shared in a past blog post during this challenge, I struggle with inconsistency and a lethargic attitude that prevents me from excelling at the things I do (although I see that God is taking this period of my life to break the hold of those behavioural patterns, as He launches me into the next phase of my walk on earth. I hope to share more on this soon). I have two exams this coming week, and three assignments to hand in, and to put it very mildly, I could be way more on top of things than I am right now. The reading from Proverbs 26:13-16 today is definitely a word in season.

“The lazy person claims, “There’s a lion on the road! Yes I’m sure there’s a lion out there!” As a door swings back and forth on its hinges, so the lazy person turns over in bed. Lazy people take food in their hand but don’t even lift it to their mouth. Lazy people consider themselves smarter than seven wise counselors. (NLT)”

The underlined verse particularly speaks to me about not making the most of God’s blessings. Getting to the 11th hour, and not making the little effort required to reap the benefit of all the things I have worked for, and God has blessed me with.

I stand reprimanded, and will do better starting now.

Peace, Love and Hardwork,

Dami

#30DaysOfTheWord

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

