Beautiful Wings

Find what makes your heart beat fast. Look left, look right, and chase after it with all you've got. Soon enough you'll be running so fast, you won't realise you're off the ground, spreading those beautiful wings… and flying!

Days Twenty Six & Twenty Seven – #30DaysOfTheWord

Tuesday, October 26

23:51

I can’t believe it’s almost Day Thirty! Time does fly when you’re having fun!

I had an exam today and there’s one tomorrow so I want to get this blog over and done with asaptually.

Part I

Jeremiah 51:1-53, Titus 2:1-15, Psalm 99:1-9 and Proverbs 26:17

Jeremiah says in 51: 5,

“For the Lord of Heaven’s Armies has not abandoned Israel and Judah. He is still their God. (NLT)”

These words were comforting to me when I read them, for some reason. They make me think that irrespective of the craziness going on around me, God is still my God. Even when I’m wrong and have to suffer consequences of my foolishness, like the people of Israel and Judah, God is irrevocably committed to me. This is incredibly comforting, especially in the light of how humans can be so temperamental with their loyalty.

Proverbs 26:17 says:

“Interfering in someone else’s argument is as foolish as yanking a dog’s ears.(NLT)”

When I read this yesterday, I meant to google “what happens when you yank a dog’s ears”, but I forgot. Will do after my exams! However I recently decided to stop giving advice/ meddling in other people’s affairs, and also to stop having people meddle in mine. This verse reminds me why that’s a good idea.

Part II

Jeremiah 51:54 – 52:34, Titus 3:1-15, Psalm 100:1-5 and Proverbs 26:18-19

Psalm 100 is a psalm of thanksgiving (I will not type it out right now, look it up!) I know that lately, it has been on my heart to thank God more deeply. There is a Yoruba proverb that says “eni ti o ba mo inu ro, a mo ope da,” i.e. “the person who knows how to think, knows how to thank”.

God sent me help last week – completely unsolicited and unexpected. I was thankful to Him, but still anxious about ‘the rest’, the seemingly countless things I am still expecting from Him. I don’t know how to shut that off (or if I should even shut it off), and just be thankful for everything He has done up till now.

Verse 3 of this psalm in the NLT saysAcknowledge that the Lord is God…” Like, take time to think about it, and to wrap your mind around it. Think, think, think. That seems to be a recurring theme. The more I keep in my mind the person and goodness and blessings of God, the more thankful I become.

Peace, Love and Thoughtful Thanksgiving,

Dami

#30DaysOfTheWord

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

