Beautiful Wings

Find what makes your heart beat fast. Look left, look right, and chase after it with all you've got. Soon enough you'll be running so fast, you won't realise you're off the ground, spreading those beautiful wings… and flying!

Days Twenty Eight & Twenty Nine – #30DaysOfTheWord

Thursday, October 30

22:22

OMG tomorrow is Day Thirty! Nooooooo I don’t want this to end! Where did the all the days go?

As for the recent ‘sandwich’ posts, I must explain: my schedule this week was extremely tight. I usually did my readings (except yesterday, sadly) but just couldn’t find time to post. Yesterday was an exception though, as I did not do my reading. That is all corrected now *smiles*. School’s been hectic but I’m loving it!

Part I

Lamentations 1:1 – 2:22, Philemon 1:1-25, Psalm 101:1-8 and Proverbs 26:20

The book of Lamentations begins today and it feels like a continuation of Jeremiah (I just did some googling and discovered Lamentations was most likely written by Jeremiah! I could feel the flow – same brooding personality!). The name gives it away too – this is another book of tears and sorrow. 2:18 speaks to me though, about praying desperately when things aren’t going right in my life, as was the case with the people of Israel and Judah.

“Cry aloud before the Lord, O walls of beautiful Jerusalem! Let your tears flow like a river day and night. Give yourselves no rest; give your eyes no relief. Rise during the night and cry out. Pour out your hearts like water to the Lord. Lift up your hands to him in prayer…(NLT)”

During really dark times tearful prayers are sometimes all I have to offer up, but as someone who grew up in the Pentecostal church I always feel as though if I am not confessing, declaring and ‘skabashing’ (speaking loudly in tongues), I have not prayed an effective prayer. However sometimes my soul is so heavy that the only way it can express what my spirit wants to say to God is through tears. I see now that the form does not corrupt the content, and God does not judge tearful prayers as less effective. As this verse says, sometimes God actually requires pouring my heart to him in liquid form!

Part II

Lamentations 3:1-66, Hebrews 1:1-14, Psalm 102:1-28 and Proverbs 26:21-22

Lamentations has some soul-stirring words in this chapter! The writer is lamenting, as usual, about the sufferings he is going through because of God’s anger, and then all of a sudden, starting from verse 31, he says:

“Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!” The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him…(NLT)”

The popular song culled from this verse is a staple in my repertoire of ‘christian choruses’, but I don’t think I have ever read it from the Bible in context. It is another beautiful reminder of God’s bottom-line goodness.

When I saw that the book of Hebrews starts today, I was excited. I love Hebrews – it is like Paul’s masterpiece – and I can’t wait to discover it for myself on a consistent, daily basis!

Peace, Love and Close To The Finish Line,

Dami

#30DaysOfTheWord

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Days Twenty Eight & Twenty Nine – #30DaysOfTheWord

  1. I was speaking to a friend of mine recently, and I talked about occasionally getting up at night to pray “why do you do that she asked?” I didn’t have any answer, to be honest, other than the fact that I felt I HAD to. So when I see these verses:

    “Give yourselves no rest; give your eyes no relief. Rise during the night and cry out. Pour out your hearts like water to the Lord. Lift up your hands to him in prayer.”

    I don’t feel like such a weirdo. Sometimes, this is the way to connect with God, by pouring out our hearts like water to Him, by just being relentless and insatiable for Him.

    This is great Dami, thanks for sharing. I’m encouraged to dig into Lamentations again; did it once and was a bit overwhelmed by its melancholy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

